The Governors are an integral part of the management structure of the school.  We are fortunate to have governors who are committed and enthusiastic and who bring an abundance of different talents, skills and expertise to the role. They work closely with the whole school community to ensure that the school is led and managed well and provides a good education for the children.

The foundation governors are appointed by the Diocese.
The local authority governor represents Brighton & Hove City Council.
The parent governor is elected by parents and staff governors are elected by the staff.

The full board of Governors meets three times per year, but a lot of work is carried out in various sub-committees. The sub-committees meet twice each term.
The minutes of governors' meetings are available for parents/carers and staff on the school’s website or from the school office on request. 

SJB is a ‘voluntary aided’ school, which means that the governors have responsibility for raising 10% of all building costs.  To support this, every family registered in the school is asked to make a voluntary contribution of £20.00 per year for each child attending the school. This is called the ‘Governors / Children’s Fund’.
Tax-paying parents are encouraged to sign a ‘gift aid’ form.  This helps the school enormously, as taxes paid can be claimed back from the Inland Revenue.  This increases the donation by approximately one third. The procedure is simple and there is no cost to parents/carers.
The Governing body currently consists of 6 governors and is made up as follows:

 Name Term of Office
 Role Appointed by Original Appt Date Declarations of Pecuniary interests 19-20

 Carmel Hughes


 Headteacher Governor

 Member by virtue of their office



Allistare Smedley 

03/03/2019 - 02/03/2021

Local Authority 

Local Authority 

 Governor at St. Marks CofE Primary School and Mile Oak Primary School

 Richard Ray

 02/03/2016 -01/03/2020

 Parent Governor

 Elected by Parents



 Richard Samuels

 20/05/2016 - 19/05/2020

Parent Governor 
Elected by Parents 



Tina Davidson
20/04/2018 - 19/04/2022

 Staff Governor

 Elected by Staff


 Cathy Hayward

16/04/2018 -15/04/2022
Foundation Governor

 The Diocese


In the past 12 months we have had the following people on our Governing Body:

 Name   Term of Office Role Appointed by Original Appointment Date
  Fr Peter Fitch
 06/12/2017 -05/12/2021  Foundation Governor  The Diocese  06/12/2017  
 Patricia Duffy
 31/05/2016 - 04/12/2019 Foundation Governor (Chair and Vice Chair)The Diocese31/05/2016
 Jasmin Gabot
 02/03/2016- 22/01/2019 Foundation Governor
The Diocese  02/03/2016

Attendance at meetings:         
2017-2018      2018-2019  

Minutes of meetings: